//
you're reading...
Out and Successful Interviews

Coming Out Stories – Hanako

For several months now, I have been struggling with when/how to come out to my dad.  I’ve been out to my mom, sister, brothers and one of my aunts for years now, but he was never on my list of people to tell right away.  He wasn’t around much when I was young, and our different personalities, beliefs and politics have kept us pretty distant from one another.  He’s really conservative and super homophobic.  Nonetheless, having been with my girlfriend for almost two years now, I felt like it was something I had to do.  I decided that a letter was the best way to go.  I was bracing for the worst, yelling, name-calling, possible violence and maybe being disowned, at least for awhile.  BUT, a miracle happened, a total fucking miracle.  I talked with him Thursday and not only is he not disowning me, but he was amazingly supportive and even tried to encourage me for dealing with homophobia from OTHER people.  He kept saying “you’re my daughter and I love you no matter what.”  I was in tears for much of our conversation and am still in a state of shock.  I just wanted to share this with you all as hopefully a source of inspiration.  As we all know, coming out can be a terrifying and painful process.  Before I came out to him, many times I was told “people surprise you.”  I hated hearing that and always responded with “yeah, but not my dad.”  I know this isn’t the case for everyone, but I just wanted to share this to say that people really do surprise you sometimes.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

